Springtime and the living’s busy

Hi everyone!  Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve written last.  I keep meaning to, but then something else always seems to comes up.  But at the time I’m writing up this blog, Branden and I are driving back from Dallas, so I’m kinda stuck sitting here in the car so hey, why not write a blog entry?  We’ve had a SUPER busy but fun weekend in Dallas, but before I get to that, I want to catch up on what else we’ve been doing!  Here we go… (rubbing hands together…)

So let’s see… first of all I have been very busy building a baby.  I know it may not sound like a lot of work, and maybe mentally I don’t have to do much, but physically it’s been… ummm… a growing experience, HAHA!  Get it?  Okaaay…  But yeah so my tummy is getting bigger and bigger, and Matthew is still a very active little fetus.  He has gotten into a routine of sleeping and moving throughout the day, but his favorite time to REALLY move and shake is at night, around 11pm.  I guess that’s because it’s when I’m trying to sleep, and it’s really quiet, so Matthew feels like it’s up to him to keep things exciting.  For the most part I’ve been able to sleep pretty well, (okay, except for last week, which was a nightmare).  If Matthew is being super rambunctious, then Branden will talk to him against my tummy and Matthew usually stops to listen, hehe, so that provides a temporary relief!

I don’t have any new sonograms to share, but here is one of my latest tummy photos…  This is me (and Matthew) at Week 30:

And today is the first day of Week 33!  I’m getting pretty big, huh?  According to my cousin Andrew, it looks like I’m about to pop!  Haha!  Gee thanks Andrew. 😉  If you want to see all of my tummy pics, you can find them here.

Branden has been super busy getting Matthew’s nursery ready too!  The baby isn’t born yet and already Branden has been an awesome dad!  The biggest thing he’s done lately is to install a chair rail in Matthew’s room.  That’s already pretty impressive to me, but did I mention he did it ALL IN ONE DAY?  Yeah, my man’s pretty handy!  He also painted the walls cream and blue to match the crib bedding.  It’s looking so cute!  Here is a pic of the walls, plus the new glider and the crib:

Here is Branden celebrating when he realized he was done. =)

So that’s some of the baby news, but I wanted to share what other stuff the Ramseys have been up to the last few months!  Here’s a quick rundown…

In February we took a few trips to visit family.   First Branden and I went to San Leon to visit Branden’s dad and stepmom.  Not only are Ernie and Paula really sweet people, but they also live in a fun beach community and we can ride around in a golf cart to get to restaurants and to the beach!

Paula, Ernie, and Branden

You can see a few more San Leon pictures here.  Also in February I flew to Lubbock to visit my family, who I hadn’t seen since Christmas!  I can’t remember the last time that I spent time with my family alone, it was a neat weekend.

In March, one of my BFF’s Rachel Hammons had a baby shower in Houston, and I got to help host it!  It was a lot of fun and Rachel looked awesome.  She’s going to have a little boy too, and she’s due at the beginning of June!  I just need to convince her to move back to Houston (she and her hubby live in Memphis)!  That way her son and my son can grow up together and be friends. =)  Here’s a picture of our friend Jami, Rachel, me, and Rachel’s sis-in-law Sandra:

In March Branden and I also went to Dallas to see another friend named Rachel get married!  Rachel is doing her residency in Jackson, MS, and met her husband out there.  I was a little hesitant when she told me she wasn’t marrying a Texas boy, but after I met Ryan I decided he was alright. 😉  Rachel looked beautiful and blissfully happy, and the wedding was lots of fun.  And let me just say this pregnant lady did not hesitate to cut a rug on the dance floor!  I overheard some guy trying to convince his date to go dance, and he said, “See, she’s PREGNANT, and she’s still dancing!”  That’s right! =)

 The new Mr. and Mrs. Head!

One of the events in April was a little bittersweet.  A dear member of our family, Jo Lynne, went to be with the Lord after some heart complications.  She was my mom’s cousin, and she left behind a sweet husband, Chris, and two beautiful teenage daughters, Sarah and Haley.  Please say a prayer for them!  I thought Jo Lynne’s funeral was a really neat tribute to her life, and I could tell she had impacted a lot of people and many many people loved her.  Our family spent the day at their house with Chris and the girls, and we all really enjoyed the time together as a family.  We do know that Jo Lynne was (is) a believer in Jesus Christ, so we know she is in heaven and is experiencing health and joy beyond anything we can imagine.   But she sure will be missed!

Later in April, I had my first baby shower, YAY!!!  My girlfriends Missy, Audrey, and Jana hosted it, and it was one of the most beautiful showers I’ve ever been to!  (I can prove it, I have pictures.)  My Mom and Grandma flew down from Lubbock too, and I was so happy that they could be there to be a part of the happy day.  We played “guess the girth” and Grandma won!  She said it was because she has been giving me lots of hugs. =)  I am so very blessed to have so many wonderful friends and family.  I felt very loved!

Missy, me, Audrey, and Jana

Mama and me

Everything was adorable!

You can see more of the shower pictures here.  April also brought my friend Amy’s baby shower!  She is also having a boy, and he is due June 9th.  I only took a few pictures at that shower (I was too busy talking) =) and I don’t like any of those pictures, so I’m not going to post any. =)

Wow, this post is getting long, and I haven’t even talked about this weekend yet!  I think I’ll stop here for now.  Doesn’t hurt to leave yall in suspense, does it? =)  I’ll try really really hard to write again soon.  Have a great day everyone!

-Liz

Leave a Reply

