That “big” thing

So that “big thing” that I was talking about in my last blog post?  It’s time to talk about it (way passed time, really).  Although it’s not really that big; actually quite the opposite.  It’s rather small.  But it’s getting bigger!!  (Have you guessed what I’m talking about yet?)  If not then how about this:  It’s causing a lot of trouble and disruption in my life, but I’ve never been so happy or excited to be troubled or disrupted!  Got it now?  If not, then last chance:  My pants don’t fit anymore.  Okay okay.  If you still don’t know what I’m talking about then you’re obviously a guy.  Now for the grand announcement:

We’re going to have a baby!!!

Okay that huge font probably gave away the answer from the very beginning, but oh well.  This needs to be loud and exciting!  Because I’m feeling loud and excited!  Do you know how hard it is not to go up to every person on the street and say “Guess what, I’m pregnant?”  I even have the urge to tell perfect strangers.  I do that a lot, actually.  Tell perfect strangers that I’m preggers.  I think I actually did that the day after I found out, back when I wasn’t supposed to be telling everyone.  It kinda slipped out at the Clinique counter.  But I’m not sorry I did it because it was fun.

So anyway, the baby is due July 3rd.  I am in week 17 of my pregnancy, which means I’m almost halfway through!  We were SUPPOSED to find out yesterday if it’s a boy or girl, but Baby Ramsey decided to be modest, and then later started moving around but put the umbilical chord between its legs.  I’m pretty sure this was done on purpose.  The baby isn’t even born yet and it’s already messing with us.  It’s definitely Branden’s child.

But since we can’t really call it “he” or “she” right now, we’ve been calling the baby “TBD”, as in “to be decided”.  It may not sound very cute but we make it cute.  Branden will come up to me and be like, “How is TBD doing today?”  And Mom will email me and tell me to give Baby TBD a little pat for her.  Now you think it’s cute, don’t you? =)

I’ve been to a few doctors appointments, and so far TBD has shown to be completely healthy, although he or she does have a big head.  (But that’s normal.)  Want to see some ultrasound pictures?  Of course you do!!

Here are the photos from Week 9.  I call these the “The little smudge”:

TBD is obviously just a little spot on the screen at this point, but somehow my doctor was able to tell that both heart chambers were present and that the heartbeat was the correct speed.  I have no idea how doctors do that.  But this early on even we could see the heartbeat on the screen and see the baby wiggle a little bit!

And then here are the much better photos two weeks later, at Week 11.  This was a really cool ultrasound because when the nurse tapped on my tummy we could see TBD push off the “ground” and float and wiggle his or her limbs!

 

(I have another photo from our appointment yesterday but I haven’t scanned it yet, so that one will come later.)

Aren’t ultrasound photos amazing??  If this doesn’t remind you how powerful and creative and amazing God is, then I don’t know what will.

Branden and I are SUPER excited and can’t wait to meet TBD.  The idea of being parents is kind of terrifying, but we’re okay with that.  I’m also VERY thankful because I haven’t had any morning sickness and the only food aversions I’ve had are for red onions, which I normally really like.  And I really, really like salty food right now, more so than normal  I would eat potato chips for every meal if I could.  Besides that I’ve had almost zero pregnancy symptoms, but now finally my tummy is starting to expand a little, which is great because it means TBD is expanding too!

Anyway, I’ve written yall a short novel at this point, so I’ll stop for now.  But don’t worry I have a feeling I’ll have lots of baby things to talk about in the near future.  I think that’s part of being a mom, bragging about your kids. =)

6 thoughts on “That “big” thing

  1. I am so happy for you and Branden. You know looking at TBD;s scans I believe he or she does remind me of Branden at 11 weeks. Love & hugs and looking forward to many wonderful memory making moments!

    Kisses and Pats,
    Grandma Ramsey

  2. This is the most adorable letter from an expectant couple that I have ever read! Liz is quite a writer & the color pictures of Liz and Brandon , darling pair, are only topped by the pictures of tiny TBD!
    If the tiny babe turns out to be a boy, just change one letter & you’ll have Ted! Truly, I am so excited to share the joy of Brandon and Liz and to know that Debby is about to know the incomparable pleasure of having a grandchild to love! Debby’s Cousin Nan in Oklahoma City.

  3. You know how thrilled Dad, Grandma and I are! You need to show the picture of my reaction when you announced to us that you are expecting a little one! Hugs and Kisses!

  4. CONGRATS! So excited for y’all and praying for a healthy pregnancy and little one! Enjoy every second of this miraculous time!

  5. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m so excited for y’all! I like “TBD”… haven’t heard that one before. You’re lucky to be getting so many ultrasounds! I got one to confirm pregnancy, then the the gender one at 23 weeks. This is so exciting! Hope you keep feeling good. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

