Happy anniversary, Erin!

Hello everyone!  I hope you all are enjoying your Sunday and are looking forward to watching some football tonight! 🙂  Branden and I don’t really care who wins (or I guess at least I don’t care) but we are both excited to kick bach and watch some football and (hopefully) entertaining commercials while we munch on chips and salsa and the oh-so-delicious velveeta/salsa dip. 🙂

So for those of you who don’t know, yesterday was a significant day in my family because it was the eighth anniversary of the day my sister Erin went to be with the Lord.  She passed away on January 31, 2001, which was the day before her 17th birthday.  She left behind a family who loved her dearly, as well as a group of awesome friends and an entire high school and town that loved her.  She was an amazing girl, filled with life and energy and a perhaps a small dose of sassiness. 🙂  She loved the Lord and wasn’t afraid to walk her talk, and would call you out if you weren’t doing the same.  She had a huge heart and treated everyone with love and respect.  It was an honor to be her sister and I can’t wait to see her again in heaven!  Here are a few pictures of her (sorry for the quality, this was before anybody had digital cameras)…

family-in-galveston

Our family in Galveston: Mom, Grandma, Erin, Dad, and me

 

erin-evan-at-beach1

Erin with Evan, who was her boyfriend at the time.  Evan is still very close to our family and has married a wonderful girl.

 

liz-erin1

Erin and me holding some of our little cousins (Sarah, and maybe Molly?)

So yesterday Branden and I went over to my parents house and spent a nice evening with them and my Grandma.  We had a great dinner and played board games, which is something we all really enjoy doing as a family.  Each year gets a little easier, although we will always miss her.  We like to think that they’re having a celebration for her in heaven too, to celebrate her homecoming. 🙂  We are so very thankful that Erin had trusted Christ as her Savior, so we know that our separation from her is only temporary, and we will see her again one day!  And that gives us a huge comfort.  If you ever want to know more about the faith that we have in Christ, just give me a holler and I’d be happy to talk with you about it!

Happy Superbowl Sunday guys! 🙂  Peace out-

10 thoughts on “Happy anniversary, Erin!

  1. Dear Elizabeth, thank you for writing such a lovely tribute to your sister, Erin. As I told you, I remember 25 years ago today being the happiest I could ever be having two beautiful little girls. My greatest thanks to the Lord is that you both know and love him. You are a wonderful daughter and sister. Thank you!

  2. Elizabeth,

    You don’t know me, but I found your Facebook via “People You May Know” and then saw your blog link. I knew Erin in high school (we were in band together — both flutists and Drum Majors) and she was always such a joy to be around. As you wrote, she was definitely a great example of what it means to live a life for God, and there is no doubt that she’s been enjoying the past eight years with our Lord.

    I think about her nearly every day, especially around this time, and I pray that with each passing year it gets easier for your family.

    Congratulations on your recent marriage! I am happy to see that you have started a new life with your husband, and I wish you all the happiness in the world.

    In Him,

    Rebecca (Walker) Birkholz

  3. Dear Elizabeth,
    Your account of Erin’s life lifted my heart. I know that I have very special grandchildren. I knew it from the time all of you were born. I think of all of you every day and look forward to eternity.

    Lots of Love, Grandma

  4. Love and hugs! I am so happy you shared with us all. I am sorry I never had the pleasure of meeting Erin, but I am so sure she was a wonderful women.
    I know Branden has been blessed to have you in his life and I am so blessed to have a loving daughter in love!!!

  5. Pingback: Baby Updates and Fond Memories | we are the ramseys

Leave a Reply

